Airtel or is it Vodafone but that is Hutch now!

A user on the India Broadband Forum pointed out this official website which sounds like it represents Airtel (of India) but it turns out to be the website of Vodafone Spain!

Vodafone Spain

The website: http://airtel.com
It points to: http://www.vodafone.es/

It is especially funny considering Vodafone is now one of the major rivals of Airtel in the Indian market. Mind baffling stuff.

But then Airtel and Vodafone have been partners since quite sometime…

Post comment as twitter logo facebook logo
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Jo,

I have been reading your posts recently and was always inspired....

But this post made me sad...

airtel.com was owned by Airtel Spain, which is nowhere related to Bharti. , Airtel spain was then acquired by vodafone. Thats all...
I have received fwd emails about this "magic". Always, Its better to confirm the verity before spreading the word. Hope you will make necessary changes...

umm airtel was a brand first used in that country. vodafone acquired that company. i guess airtel india was late. :P

The official site of airtel is www.airtel.in and not www.airtel.com
If Airtel is active abroad i.e. in Europe where Vodafone has a monopoly,
it might be advertising under through Vodafone, which explains the redirection to the
Vodafone site. Otherwise opening up a Spanish site at the first Get request from the Browser is absurd especially because the headers always send the Language : en-US.
Probably the website developers overlooked the fact that this url : www.airtel.com could be tried from an country.